One of the world's most prestigious trophies gets a new life on Lilla ÅFOR

2018-06-22 - Kappsegling, ÅF Offshore Race Legends like Ben Ainslie, Ian Williams, Peter Gilmour have raised the trophy over their heads after winning the World Cup in Match Racing. Now the stars of the future will be given a chance to put their names on the trophy when it will be awarded to the winner of the Lilla ÅF Offshore Race.

For a number of years, it was one of the world's most sought after trophies. Then came new thoughts and a new prize was made of a new main sponsor of the World Cup in Match Racing, World Match Racing Tour. Now it is reusing the newly created competition Lilla ÅF Offshore Race.

- Behind every one of the previous wins there are thousands of training hours. That's why it feels really good that we can reuse this trophy, which I hope can inspire our future winners. Apart from that, this is also in line with our thoughts on a sustainable event. This will be one of the symbols for reuse, says Stefan Rahm, club director at KSSS.

Past winners

2000 Bertrand Pacé (FRA)
2001 Magnus Holmberg
2009 Adam Minorprio
2001 Magnus Holmberg (SWE)
2002 Peter Holmberg (USA)
2003 Jesper Radich (DEN)
2004-2006 Peter Gilmour (AUS)
2004-05 Peter Gilmour (AUS)
2007-2008, 2011-2012 Ian Williams (GBR)
2009 Adam Minoprio (NZL)
2010 Ben Ainslie (GBR